Back to Main Site

4 Cs of Diamonds

July 11, 2018

You’ve probably heard about the 4Cs of a diamond, and you may even know that it stands for Cut, Color, Clarity and Carat Weight. Let’s take a deeper look behind the 4Cs of a diamond!


Of all the 4Cs, Cut has the greatest effect on a diamond’s beauty. In determining the quality of the cut, the diamond grader evaluates the cutter’s skill in the fashioning of the diamond. The more precise the cut, the more captivating the diamond is to the eye.
View the complete tutorial on the American Gem Society’s patented Light Performance cut grade or learn more about diamond cut grading.


Color Gem-quality diamonds occur in many hues. In the range from colorless to light yellow or light brown. Colorless diamonds are the rarest. Other natural colors (blue, red, pink for example) are known as “fancy,” and their color grading is different than from white colorless diamonds.
Take a look at interesting colored diamond trends across the industry or learn more about diamond color grading.


Diamonds can have internal characteristics known as inclusions or external characteristics known as blemishes. Diamonds without inclusions or blemishes are rare; however, most characteristics can only be seen with magnification.
Learn more about diamond clarity and how it is determined.


The carat is the diamond’s physical weight measured in metric carats. One carat equals 1/5 gram and is subdivided into 100 points. Carat weight is the most objective grade of the 4Cs.
Learn more about diamond carat weight.

The Fifth C: Confidence

When you shop smart with an American Gem Society jeweler, you will feel confident in your decision. You know that the jeweler is qualified to describe the characteristics of your diamond, so you can make the informed choice that is right for you.

-courtesy of The American Gem Society

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *